Jan Schapper Scholarship 2015 Recipient: Dr Dhammika Jayawardena, University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Nugegoda, Sri Lanka.

The Jan Schapper Scholarship for Emerging Critical Business Ethics Scholars

The Jan Schapper Scholarship in Critical Business Ethics was founded in 2015 to provide encouragement and support for a PhD student, earlier career researcher, or other worthy recipient, to participate and present research that develops a critical approach to business ethics at the ABEN annual meeting. The initiative is being supported by Michelle Greenwood (Monash University) and Campbell Jones (University of Auckland).

The Scholarship honours the memory of Dr Jan Schapper, co-founder of the Australasian Business Ethics Network (ABEN) in 2010. Jan was born in 1951 in rural Victoria, Australia. She studied her Bachelor of Arts and Diploma of Education at La Trobe University in Melbourne. After a career in teaching and trade unions, she joined Monash University as an academic in the mid-1990s, gaining her PhD in 2004. She worked at Monash’s Department of Management for 15 years before returning to La Trobe in 2010. Jan retired in 2013. Deeply immersed in feminist, Marxist and psychoanalytic scholarship, Jan’s research interests included higher education, critical approaches to business ethics and CSR, and workplace equality and diversity.

Jan wanted to make a contribution, and to get to the things that mattered, especially teaching and learning. She was especially keen that as a scholarly community we pay attention to questions of critical pedagogy, teaching and learning, and to ensure that we provide supportive and friendly environments in which future scholars can develop their work. Jan died surrounded by her family and friends on September 24, 2014. It is deeply fitting that this award is named in Jan’s honour.

The Inaugural Jan Schapper Scholarship has been awarded during the Annual ABEN Conference in Sydney on Tuesday 8 December 2015.


Start typing and press Enter to search