About ABEN

The Australasian Business Ethics Network was founded in Melbourne, Australia, in 2010 – by Jan Schapper, Campbell Jones and Michelle Greenwood. We are a community of scholars and practitioners from a range of institutions across Australia, New Zealand and Oceania. We share a passion for developing and extending the Australasian business ethics agenda. We recognise the uniqueness of the Australasian approach, experience and contribution to the field of business ethics.

Our network aims to be organic and evolving, with an emphasis on dialogue and collaboration. As scholars we value: creativity, pluralism, tolerance, sharing, openness, reflexivity, inclusivity, inter-disciplinarity, critical enquiry, and our Australasian ‘voice’. The approach we adopt is consultative, and members are invited to contact the Steering Committee with ideas or comments.

Areas of interest include, but are not restricted to: business-society relationships, corporate responsibility, environmental ethics, indigenous ethics, social and environmental sustainability, globalisation, spirituality, business ethics education.

We promote research through the awarding of a scholarship:

  1. Jan Schapper Award for more details click here

Current Leadership Team:

Chair:  Dr Alessandro Bressan

Deputy Chair: Dr Alice Gibson

Secretary: Dr  Sanjukta Choudhury-Kaul

HDR Coordinators: Dr Chamila Perera & Saeed Loghman

External Engagement: Dr Sitong (Michelle) Chen

Marketing Coordinator: Dr Felicity Small

Past Leadership


Chair: Eva Tsahuridu

Deputy Chair: Alessandro Bressan


Chair: Heather Stewart (Griffith University)
Deputy Chair: Eva Tsahuridu


Chair: Andrew West (Queensland University of Technology)
Deputy Chair: Heather Stewart (Griffith University)


Chair: Rob Macklin (University of Tasmania)
Deputy Chair: Wes Hamilton-Jessop (University of Sydney)


Chair: Cristina Neesham (Swinburne University of Technology)
Deputy Chair: Rob Macklin (University of Tasmania)


Chair: Cristina Neesham (Monash University)

Start typing and press Enter to search

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x